Marcell Coetzee, Johan Grobbelaar win big at Bulls’ season awards

Captain Marcell Coetzee scooped the player of the season award after being named the Bulls’ Most Valuable Player of the Year at their annual season awards in Pretoria on Wednesday night.

Coetzee led the Bulls to the inaugural United Rugby Championship final this year, where they lost to the Stormers in Cape Town but beat Leinster in Ireland en route.

The 31-year-old was also named their Fans’ player of the Year, a show of appreciation for the workman-like performance he’s put in for the franchise.


Willem Strauss, Jake White, Marcell Coetzee, and Wessel du Plessis during the Bulls Player awards ceremony. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Hooker Johan Grobbelaar was also the toast of the evening after getting the URC Forward of the Year, “Bold Player”, and the Players’ player of the Year.

Madosh Tambwe, who departed for French club Bordeaux, was their Backline Player of the Year and Ruan Nortje the overall URC Player of the Year. Front-rower Lizo Gqoboka was named Currie Cup Player of the Year.

“It was a tough, busy and thoroughly enjoyable 2022/23 season which saw the Bulls involved in prestigious competitions. It is only proper that we take a bit of time to reflect and celebrate the season that has just passed,” said Bulls CEO, Edgar Rathbone.

Full list of Bulls end-of-season award winners

URC Forward of the Year: Johan Grobbelaar

URC Back of the Year: Madosh Tambwe

URC Player of the Year: Ruan Nortje

Currie Cup Forward of the Year: Lizo Gqoboka

Currie Cup Back of the Year: Marco Jansen van Vuren

Currie Cup Player of the Year: Lizo Gqoboka


Blue Bulls Company Employee of the Year: Heilie Brits (Finance)

Most Improved Player of the Year: Canan Moodie

‘The Bold Player’ Award: Johan Grobbelaar

Team Man of the Year: Jacques van Rooyen

Fans’ Player of the Year: Marcell Coetzee

Players’ Player of the Year: Johan Grobbelaar

Bulls Junior MVP of the Year: Tiaan Lange

Bulls Senior MVP of the Year: Marcell Coetzee